Five elements of reflection

This is how I would describe what I am expected to do in this course. This information comes from the course material books in the learning paths of the course and is broken up into 3 modules which are made of things called learning path that we need to work through each week. There are 3 assignments that are tied directly to modules of this course. Module 1 links to assignment 1 and the same for 2 and 3.

Within the modules, we are introduced to a thing call Personal Knowledge Mastery. It’s a way of improving ourselves professionally. As quoted by the PKM workshop website, the discipline of PKM helps to develop four core work skills, identified by the Institute for the Future: sense-making; social intelligence; new media literacy; and cognitive load management.   It’s a form of professional development to professionally interact and function in whatever profession overall but for me, it’s a teaching profession.  The Personal Knowledge Mastery even have (online workshops) on offer, for anyone who is interested.

Personal Knowledge Mastery also believes in the Seek, Sense and Share framework that the course  EDC3100 like to follow. We are learning about some new, well for me anyway, digital tools in this course called Diigo, blogs and feedly and they all interconnect through the Seek, Sense and Share framework.

This is how it is done, the seek stands for sense information from the learning paths, discussion forum and of course with Diigo, blogs and feedly. Sense stands for completing the weeks learning paths, reflecting on them which means describing how we feel while engaging in the weeks learning paths. The sharing part means sharing useful information we find on Diigo and our blogs.

By following the EDC3100 framework, engaging in and actively using these digital tools will all help us as future teachers to be able to understand digital technology.

Personally, 1 of my most frustrating moments so far was when I was trying to out a comment on Diigo. I looked for help and went to the discussion forum where David Jones gave me advice on what to do. I know there is a lot to learn about ICT but I didn’t realise how deep and far it went. I assumed I had learnt more about ICT just through study at University. However, I’m learning and finding out that there is more to ICT and it has shown me how to open my mind far, far, more on what’s out there and what people are capable of learning through ICT.

I must admit learning about technology from a different perspective only started since study at University. Before that, I’ve away been terrified of it.  I have to question if I didn’t bother with University how closed minded would I be about ICT. Now I’m not so afraid to try new things, it will not want bite and it will improve me as a person using ICT and as an educator.

The outcome of our reflection is to learn more about ourselves in regards to our beliefs, attitudes and how we want to learn. Looking at what works and what doesn’t and then going back and improving on it, or finding out how to improve on it.

 

Leave a Reply

